

Newfoundland and Labrador Association of Architects

P. O. Box 5204, St. John's, NL, A1C 5V5 / T: (709) 726-8550 nlaa@newfoundlandarchitects.com / www.newfoundlandarchitects.com

> For Release November 30, 2019

Newfoundland and Labrador Association of Architects (NLAA) celebrates its 70th Anniversary

St. John's, November 23, 2019 – The Newfoundland and Labrador Association of Architects celebrated a milestone this year when the 70th Annual Conference and General Meeting took place at Clovelly and the Anniversary Reception was held at the Rooms.

A new Council was elected during the morning session of the Annual General Meeting. Jeremy Bryant was re-elected as President, Rob Menchenton remained as the Past-President, and Grant Genova, Sue Wright, Tina Birmingham, and John Hancock were elected as the new incoming Councillors. Mark White, Intern Architect, was reappointed as the Intern Representative on Council.

The evening reception was well attended. Special Guests included, Mayor of Mount Pearl, Dave Aker and Marnie Sinnot, Mayor of Paradise, Dan Bobbett and Valerie Bobbett, Councillor of Paradise, Kimberley Street and Corey Drover, and the President of the Atlantic Provinces Association of Landscape Architects, Matthew Mills.

The Sponsors, namely, Interface Canada Inc., First Copy Duplicating Centre Ltd., and White + Abbot Chartered Professional Accountants were greatly acknowledged.

The Awards Ceremony followed.

The *Certificate of Appreciation Award* is granted annually by Council to a non-architect who has promoted the ideals of architecture and the profession in the Province of Newfoundland and Labrador. This year, in conjunction with the Architects Licensing Board of NL (ALBNL), Council selected two worthy individuals who served on the Board as the Government Appointed Public Representatives for over eight (8) years. The Certificates were presented to Jackie Manuel P.Eng. by Councillor, Grant Genova and in the absence of Louise Pinsent Parsons, Board member, Paula Pittman, accepted the Award on her behalf.

The *Honorary Life Member Achievement Award* is granted at the sole direction of Council to individuals who have had a long-standing relationship with the Association or the Board or who have made a major contribution to the built environment of the province or the country. The Awards were presented to Jim Case, David Dewling, Stan Hampton, Lynda Hayward-Kirkland, and Beaton Sheppard by the NLAA President.

A round of applause was extended to all Award recipients. President Bryant extended special thanks to Red Oak Catering, Guitarist, Boyd Chubbs and Photographer, Paul Daly.